Nosh with Nina: We Have a Guest in the House

I’m so pleased to introduce a guest blogger this week. Welcome, Angie Ahrens, whom I met on Twitter, and will today be contributing to my regular Sunday blog feature Nosh with Nina.

Angie is a fellow nosher from way back, and writes her own blog, City Nom Noms. I encourage you to follow her wonderfully informative blog to learn all about her food-related adventures across central Indiana:

___________________________________________________________________________________

Corn. Not being from Indiana, I didn’t realize the connection people could have to a vegetable. I had never heard the expression ‘knee high by 4th of July’ or that popcorn was a staple food item (according to this – thoughts?) I also hadn’t experienced the butter dripping from my chin at the State Fair (in Wisconsin, we are all about crème puffs).

I’m not complaining by any means.

I know all these things now. Not only do I know, but I enjoy it to the fullest degree.

I definitely have had my fair share of corn prior to becoming an Indiana resident. But I have completely embraced buying and supporting the local farmers on Saturdays at the Carmel Farmers Market.

This past weekend I walked away with some corn. I knew the grill would be the perfect place for a simple side dish for the hubs and I. After a quick look in the fridge, I decided buttered corn wouldn’t be enough for this girl.

Enjoy the jazzed up version – simple yet delicious.

Feta Grilled Corn

4 ears of corn
1/2 stick of butter, melted & divided
1/2 cup of feta cheese
Fresh cilantro and/or parsley, chopped

Salt and pepper to taste

  1. 1.  Husk corn and brush with 1/2 of the butter.
  2. 2.  Grill ears of corn until done and have grill marks.
  3. 3.  Brush with remaining butter. Sprinkle with salt, pepper, cilantro/parsley and feta
Enjoy (what is left of) summer!

2 thoughts on “Nosh with Nina: We Have a Guest in the House

  1. Hopping over from Angie’s blog. Love connected with other local bloggers. I also live in the Carmel area and have some friends that attend your church. Also, I think summer might be over..brrr!

Leave a Reply

